The Large and Medium-sized Companies and Groups (Accounts and Reports) Regulations 2008

Type Statutory-Instrument
Publication 2008-02-19
Last updated 2026-01-01
State In force
Department King's Printer of Acts of Parliament
PDF Download
articles Not indexed
Reform history JSON API
  • (b) otherwise restricted, except so far as necessary to comply with any enactment or regulatory requirement (in the United Kingdom or elsewhere).
  • (6) The statement of corporate governance arrangements—
  • (a) must be made available on a website as soon as reasonably practicable, and
  • (b) must be kept available throughout the period specified in sub-paragraph (2)(b)(i) or (as the case may be) (ii).
  • (7) A failure to make the statement of corporate governance arrangements available on a website throughout the period specified in sub-paragraph (2)(b)(i) or (as the case may be) (ii) is disregarded if—
  • (a) the statement is made available on the website for part of that period, and
  • (b) the failure is wholly attributable to circumstances that it would not be reasonable to have expected the company to prevent or avoid.
  • (8) In the event of default in complying with this paragraph, an offence is committed by every officer of the company who is in default.
  • (9) A person guilty of an offence under sub-paragraph (8) is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 3 on the standard scale.

Pay ratio information in relation to the total remuneration of the director undertaking the role of chief executive officer

19A
  • (1) If paragraph 19B applies to the company for the relevant financial year the directors’ remuneration report must contain pay ratio information specified in paragraphs 19C to 19G.
  • (2) Where the company is a parent company, the pay ratio information must relate to the group and not the company, and references in paragraphs 19C, 19D and 19G to the company’s UK employees should be read as references to the UK employees of all the companies within the group.

Requirement to provide pay ratio information

19B
  • (1) This paragraph applies to a company—
  • (a) in relation to its first financial year if the qualifying condition is met in that year;
  • (b) in relation to a subsequent financial year—
  • (i) if the qualifying condition is met in that year and was also met in relation to the preceding financial year,
  • (ii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying condition is met in that year, and
  • (bb) the paragraph applied to the company in the preceding financial year, or
  • (iii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying condition was met in the preceding financial year, and
  • (bb) the paragraph applied to the company in the preceding financial year.
  • (2) The qualifying condition is met by a company in a year in which the average number of UK employees of the company is more than 250.
  • (3) The average number of UK employees of the company is determined as follows—
  • (a) find for each month in the financial year the number of UK employees in that month (whether employed throughout the month or not),
  • (b) add together the monthly totals, and
  • (c) divide by the number of months in the financial year.
  • (4) Where the company is a parent company the average number of UK employees refers to the number of UK employees within the group.

Pay ratios table

19C
  • (1) The directors’ remuneration report must set out in the form of the table in sub-paragraph (2) (“pay ratios table”) the following information for the relevant financial year—
  • (a) in the first column, the year in which that financial year ends,
  • (b) in the second column, the method set out in paragraph 19D used by the company to determine Y25, Y50 and Y75, and
  • (c) in subsequent columns, the specified ratios (“pay ratios”).
  • (2) The form of the pay ratios table is—
Year Method 25th percentile pay ratio Median pay ratio 75th percentile pay ratio
[year] [Option A, B or C] (X/Y25):1 (X/Y50):1 (X/Y75):1
  • Where—
  • X is the remuneration of the director undertaking the role of chief executive officer (“CEO”), using the total for the CEO in the single total figure table. Where more than one person has undertaken the role of CEO in the relevant financial year, X means the total remuneration in the single total figure table paid to persons in relation to the period those persons were undertaking the role of CEO in the relevant financial year;
  • Y25 is the pay and benefits figure relating to P25;
  • Y50 is the pay and benefits figure relating to P50;
  • Y75 is the pay and benefits figure relating to P75.
  • (3) In this paragraph and paragraphs 19D to 19G—
  • “P25” is a UK employee whose pay and benefits are on the 25th percentile of pay and benefits of the company’s UK employees for the relevant financial year;
  • “P50” is a UK employee whose pay and benefits are on the 50th percentile of pay and benefits of the company’s UK employees for the relevant financial year;
  • “P75” is a UK employee whose pay and benefits are on the 75th percentile of pay and benefits of the company’s UK employees for the relevant financial year;
  • “pay and benefits” of a UK employee means the employee’s full-time equivalent pay and benefits, calculating the applicable components in paragraph 7(1)(a) to (e) by reference to paragraph 10, save that in paragraph 7(1)(a) “salary” means “wages and salary”.
  • (4) If the relevant financial year is not the first financial year in which the requirement in sub-paragraph (1) applied to the company, the pay ratios table must also show, in separate rows, information for earlier financial years in accordance with sub-paragraphs (5) and (6).
  • (5) The earlier financial years for which information must be shown under sub-paragraph (4) are—
  • (a) the first financial year in which the requirement in sub-paragraph (1) applied to the company and every subsequent financial year before the relevant financial year, or
  • (b) if the application of paragraph (a) would require the company to show information in respect of more than nine earlier financial years, the nine financial years immediately preceding the relevant financial year.
  • (6) The information required to be shown by sub-paragraph (4) is—
  • (a) for a financial year in which the requirement in sub-paragraph (1) applied to the company, the information that was required by that sub-paragraph to be included in the pay ratios table in respect of that financial year;
  • (b) for a financial year in which that requirement did not apply, the year of that financial year and the statement “The company was exempt from reporting pay ratios for this financial year”.

Pay ratios methods

19D
  • (1) The company must choose one of the methods set out in sub-paragraph (2) to determine the Y25, Y50 and Y75 figures to use in the pay ratios for the relevant financial year, but for a subsequent financial year may choose to use a different one of those methods.
  • (2) The methods for determining Y25, Y50 and Y75 are—
  • (a) “Option A” set out in sub-paragraph (3),
  • (b) “Option B” set out in sub-paragraph (4), or
  • (c) “Option C” set out in sub-paragraph (5).
  • (3) Under Option A the company must calculate the pay and benefits of all its UK employees for the relevant financial year in order to identify P25, P50 and P75, and use the pay and benefits figures for those UK employees as Y25, Y50 and Y75.
  • (4) Under Option B the company must determine Y25, Y50 and Y75 as follows—
  • (a) as a starting point, use the most recent hourly rate gender pay gap information for all UK employees of the company to identify three UK employees as the best equivalents of P25, P50 and P75,
  • (b) use available data for the relevant financial year for the best equivalents to calculate the pay and benefits figures for each for the relevant financial year, and
  • (c) make any necessary adjustment to the pay and benefit figures to ensure that the best equivalents are reasonably representative of P25, P50 and P75 for the relevant financial year.
  • (5) Under Option C the company may determine Y25, Y50 and Y75 as follows—
  • (a) as a starting point, use data other than, or in addition to, gender pay gap information to identify three UK employees as the best equivalents of P25, P50 and P75, and in so doing—
  • (i) the company must not use data that relates to any year prior to the preceding financial year, and
  • (ii) if the company has gender pay gap information available, it must not use data that is less up to date than the gender pay gap information,
  • (b) use available data for the relevant financial year for the best equivalents to calculate the pay and benefits for each in relation to the relevant financial year, and
  • (c) make any necessary adjustment to the pay and benefit figures to ensure that the best equivalents are reasonably representative of P25, P50 and P75 for the relevant financial year.
  • (6) When using any of the options, the company may—
  • (a) determine Y25, Y50 and Y75 with reference to a day no earlier than three months before the last day of the relevant financial year, using a projected calculation of the salary component of pay and benefits;
  • (b) omit any component other than salary from pay and benefits to determine Y25, Y50 and Y75, provided the company includes in its report a statement required by paragraph 19E(f);
  • (c) calculate any component of pay and benefits, other than salary, using a different methodology than that set out in paragraph 10 to determine Y25, Y50 and Y75, provided the company includes in its report a statement required by paragraph 19E(g).
  • (7) When using Option B or C, if the company does not have the data available for any component of pay and benefits corresponding to paragraph 7(1)(b) to (e), the company may use a reasonable estimate of that component to determine Y25, Y50 and Y75.
  • (8) In this paragraph gender pay gap information means the most recent data collected in accordance with the Equality Act 2010 (Gender Pay Gap Information) Regulations 2017.

Additional requirements in respect of the pay ratios table

19E

The directors’ remuneration report must set out the following information after the pay ratios table—

  • (a) an explanation of why the company chose Option A, B or C as the preferred method for calculating the pay ratio for the relevant financial year,
  • (b) if the company was required to report pay ratio information in the preceding financial year, and the company then used a different option to determine Y25, Y50 and Y75, an explanation for the change,
  • (c) the day by reference to which the company determined Y25, Y50 and Y75,
  • (d) where the company has used Option B—
  • (i) a brief explanation of how the best equivalents are reasonably representative of P25, P50 and P75, and
  • (ii) whether, and if so how, it has relied on the use of estimates or adjustments,
  • (e) where the company has used Option C—
  • (i) the methodology used for estimating the best equivalents, describing any estimates, adjustments, or material assumptions, and
  • (ii) a brief explanation of how the best equivalents are reasonably representative of P25, P50 and P75,
  • (f) where the company has omitted any component from pay and benefits in reliance on paragraph 19D(6)(b), the component omitted and the reason for the omission, and if the company omitted any component in the previous financial year, whether the company has continued to omit that component,
  • (g) where the company has used a different methodology from that set out in paragraph 10 to calculate a component of pay and benefits, a description of the different methodology and why the methodology in paragraph 10 was not used,
  • (h) a brief explanation of any assumptions or statistical modelling used to determine full-time equivalent remuneration.
19F

The directors’ remuneration report must set out the following figures for each of Y25, Y50, and Y75 after the information required by paragraph 19E—

  • (a) total pay and benefits, and
  • (b) the salary component of total pay and benefits.
19G

The directors’ remuneration report must set out a summary for the relevant financial year after the information required by paragraph 19F, explaining—

  • (a) any reduction or increase in the relevant financial year’s pay ratios compared to the pay ratios of the preceding financial year (if the company recorded pay ratio information for that financial year),
  • (b) whether a reduction or an increase in a pay ratio is attributable to a change in—
  • (i) the remuneration of the CEO, or the pay and benefits of the company’s UK employees taken as a whole;
  • (ii) the company’s employment models (including any increase in the proportion of the company’s employees employed to work wholly or mainly outside the UK, and any increase in the proportion of the company’s workforce that is not employed by the company under contracts of service);
  • (iii) the use of a different option to calculate Y25, Y50 and Y75,
  • (c) any trend in the median pay ratio over the period of financial years covered by the pay ratios table, and
  • (d) whether, and if so why, the company believes the median pay ratio for the relevant financial year is consistent with the pay, reward and progression policies for the company’s UK employees taken as a whole.

Relative importance of spend on pay

Statement of implementation of remuneration policy in the following financial year

Consideration by the directors of matters relating to directors’ remuneration

Statement of voting at general meeting

35A

The directors’ remuneration report must, in respect of each person who is a director (other than a director who is not performing an executive function)—

  • (a) set out for performance targets or measures relating to more than one financial year, an indication of the maximum remuneration receivable assuming company share price appreciation of 50% during the relevant performance period, and
  • (b) provide a short description of the basis of the calculation reported under sub-paragraph (a).
15A
  • (1) If the report is a group directors’ report, subject to sub-paragraph (2), paragraph 15(2) to (3A), (3D) and (5)(a) and paragraph 17 have effect as if references to the company were references to the company and its subsidiary undertakings included in the consolidation that are quoted companies, unquoted companies or limited liability partnerships.
  • (2) The company may exclude from the report any information which relates to—
  • (a) a subsidiary undertaking that is a quoted company and which that quoted company would not be required to include in its directors’ report by this Part of this Schedule;
  • (b) a subsidiary undertaking that is an unquoted company and which that unquoted company would not be required to include in its directors’ report by Part 7A of this Schedule;
  • (c) a subsidiary undertaking that is a limited liability partnership and which that limited liability partnership would not be required to include in its energy and carbon report by section 416(2) of the 2006 Act as applied and modified by regulation 12B of the Limited Liability Partnerships (Accounts and Audit) (Application of Companies Act 2006) Regulations 2008.
  • (3) For the purpose of this paragraph, “limited liability partnership” means a limited liability partnership registered under the Limited Liability Partnerships Act 2000.
18A

With the exception of the first year for which the directors’ report contains the information required by paragraph 15(3A) to (3D), the report must state not only the information required by paragraph 15(3A) to (3D) but that information as disclosed in the report for the preceding financial year.

19A

The period for which the directors’ report is reporting the information required by paragraph 15(3) and (3A) must be the same as the period for which it is reporting the information required by paragraph 15(2).

PART 7A — DISCLOSURES CONCERNING GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS, ENERGY CONSUMPTION AND ENERGY EFFICIENCY ACTION BY UNQUOTED COMPANIES

20A
  • (1) Unless the company is exempted under paragraph 20B or 20C, and subject to sub-paragraph (2), this Part of this Schedule applies to the directors’ report for a financial year if the company is an unquoted company.
  • (2) This Part does not apply if—
  • (a) the company is a subsidiary undertaking at the end of the financial year;
  • (b) the company is included in the group report of a parent undertaking; and
  • (c) the group report is prepared for a financial year of the parent undertaking that ends at the same time as, or before the end of, the company’s financial year; and—
  • (i) if the group report is a group directors’ report—
  • (aa) of a quoted company, it complies with Part 7 of this Schedule other than in reliance on paragraph 15(5)(b); or
  • (bb) of an unquoted company, it complies with this Part of this Schedule other than in reliance on paragraph 20D(7)(b); or
  • (ii) if the group report is a group energy and carbon report, it complies with this Part of this Schedule as applied and modified by regulation 12B of the Limited Liability Partnerships (Accounts and Audit) (Application of Companies Act 2006) Regulations 2008 other than in reliance on paragraph 20D(7)(b).
  • (3) For the purpose of sub-paragraph (2), “group energy and carbon report” means a report prepared in accordance with section 415(2) of the 2006 Act as applied and modified by regulation 12B of the Limited Liability Partnerships (Accounts and Audit) (Application of Companies Act 2006) Regulations 2008.
20B
  • (1) Unless the company is a parent company, the company is exempted under this paragraph—
  • (a) in relation to its first financial year if the qualifying conditions in sub-paragraph (2) are met in that year;
  • (b) in relation to a subsequent financial year—
  • (i) if the qualifying conditions are met in that year and were also met in relation to the preceding financial year;
  • (ii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying conditions are met in that year, and
  • (bb) the company was exempted in relation to the preceding financial year; or
  • (iii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying conditions were met in the preceding financial year, and
  • (bb) the company was exempted in relation to the preceding financial year.
  • (2) The qualifying conditions referred to in sub-paragraph (1) are met by a company in a year in which it satisfies two or more of the following requirements—
1 Turnover not more than £36 million
2 Balance sheet total not more than £18 million
3 Number of employees not more than 250
  • (3) For the purposes of sub-paragraph (2)—
  • (a) for a period that is a company’s financial year but is not in fact a year the figure for turnover must be proportionately adjusted;
  • (b) the balance sheet total means the aggregate of the amounts shown as assets in the company’s balance sheet;
  • (c) the number of employees means the average number of persons employed by the company in the year, determined as follows—
  • (i) find for each month in the financial year the number of persons employed under contracts of service by the company in that month (whether throughout the month or not),
  • (ii) add together the monthly totals, and
  • (iii) divide by the number of months in the financial year.
20C
  • (1) A parent company is exempted under this paragraph—
  • (a) in relation to the parent company’s first financial year if the qualifying conditions in sub-paragraph (2) are met in that year by the group headed by it;
  • (b) in relation to a subsequent financial year of the parent company—
  • (i) if the qualifying conditions are met in that year and the preceding financial year by the group headed by the parent company;
  • (ii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying conditions are met in that year by the group, and
  • (bb) the parent company was exempted in relation to the preceding financial year; or
  • (iii) if—
  • (aa) the qualifying conditions were met in the preceding financial year by the group, and
  • (bb) the parent company was exempted in relation to the preceding financial year.
  • (2) The qualifying conditions referred to in sub-paragraph (1) are met by a group in a year in which it satisfies two or more of the following requirements—
1 Aggregate turnover not more than £36 million net (or £43.2 million gross)
2 Aggregate balance sheet total not more than £18 million net (or £21.6 million gross)
3 Aggregate number of employees not more than 250
  • (3) For the purposes of sub-paragraph (2), the aggregate figures are to be ascertained by aggregating the relevant figures determined in accordance with paragraph 20B for each member of the group.
  • (4) In relation to the aggregate figures for turnover and balance sheet total—
  • (a) “net” means after any set-offs and other adjustments made to eliminate group transactions—
  • (i) in the case of Companies Act accounts, in accordance with regulations under section 404 of the 2006 Act,
  • (ii) in the case of IAS accounts, in accordance with international accounting standards;
  • (b) “gross” means without those set-offs and other adjustments; and
  • (c) a company may satisfy any requirements in sub-paragraph (2) on the basis of either the net or the gross figure.
  • (5) For the purposes of sub-paragraph (2)—
  • (a) the figures for each subsidiary undertaking must be those included in its individual accounts for the relevant financial year, that is—
  • (i) if its financial year ends with that of the parent company, that financial year, and
  • (ii) if not, its financial year ending last before the end of the financial year of the parent company; or
  • (b) if those figures cannot be obtained without disproportionate expense or undue delay, the latest available figures may be taken.
20D
  • (1) The directors’ report must state the annual quantity of emissions in tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent resulting from activities for which the company is responsible involving—
  • (a) the combustion of gas; or
  • (b) the consumption of fuel for the purposes of transport.
  • (2) The report must state the annual quantity of emissions in tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent resulting from the purchase of electricity by the company for its own use, including for the purposes of transport.
  • (3) The report must state a figure, in kWh, which is the aggregate of—
  • (a) the annual quantity of energy consumed from activities for which the company is responsible involving—
  • (i) the combustion of gas; or
  • (ii) the consumption of fuel for the purposes of transport; and
  • (b) the annual quantity of energy consumed resulting from the purchase of electricity by the company for its own use, including for the purposes of transport.
  • (4) If the company has in the financial year to which the report relates taken any measures for the purpose of increasing the company’s energy efficiency, the report must contain a description of the principal measures taken for that purpose.
  • (5) The figures reported in accordance with sub-paragraphs (1) to (3)—
  • (a) if the company is an offshore undertaking, may exclude emissions and energy consumed outside of the United Kingdom and offshore area;
  • (b) in any other case, may exclude emissions and energy consumed outside of the United Kingdom.
  • (6) Sub-paragraphs (1) to (4) and paragraphs 20F and 20G apply only to the extent that it is practical for the company to obtain the information in question; but where it is not practical for the company to obtain some or all of that information, the report must state what information is not included and why.
  • (7) Nothing in sub-paragraphs (1) to (4) and paragraphs 20F and 20G requires the disclosure of information if—
  • (a) the company consumed 40,000 kWh of energy or less in the United Kingdom during the period in respect of which the directors’ report is prepared, and the report states that the information is not disclosed for that reason; or
  • (b) the disclosure would, in the opinion of the directors, be seriously prejudicial to the interests of the company, and the report states that the information is not disclosed for that reason.
20E
  • (1) If the report is a group directors’ report, subject to sub-paragraph (2) and (3), paragraph 20D(1) to (4) and (7)(a) and paragraph 20G have effect as if references to the company were references to the company and its subsidiary undertakings included in the consolidation that are quoted companies, unquoted companies or limited liability partnerships.
  • (2) If a subsidiary undertaking is a quoted company, paragraph 20D(1) to (4) have effect as if references to the disclosures required were references to the disclosures required for the purpose of paragraph 15(2) to (3D) of Part 7 of this Schedule.
  • (3) The company may exclude from the report any information which relates to—
  • (a) a subsidiary undertaking that is a quoted company and which that quoted company would not be required to include in its directors’ report by Part 7 of this Schedule;
  • (b) a subsidiary undertaking that is an unquoted company and which that unquoted company would not be required to include in its directors’ report by this Part of this Schedule;
  • (c) a subsidiary undertaking that is a limited liability partnership and which that limited liability partnership would not be required to include in its energy and carbon report by section 416(2) of the 2006 Act as applied and modified by regulation 12B of the Limited Liability Partnerships (Accounts and Audit) (Application of Companies Act 2006) Regulations 2008.
  • (4) For the purpose of this paragraph, “limited liability partnership” means a limited liability partnership registered under the Limited Liability Partnerships Act 2000.
20F

The directors’ report must state the methodologies used to calculate the information disclosed under paragraph 20D(1), (2) and (3).

20G

The directors’ report must state at least one ratio which expresses the company’s annual emissions in relation to a quantifiable factor associated with the company’s activities.

20H

With the exception of the first year for which the directors’ report contains the information required by paragraphs 20D(1) to (4) and 20G, the report must state not only the information required by those paragraphs, but also that information as disclosed in the report for the preceding financial year.

20I

The directors’ report must state the period for which it is reporting the information required by paragraph 20D(1) if it is different to the period in respect of which the directors’ report is prepared.

20J

The period for which the directors’ report is reporting the information required by paragraph 20D(2) and (3) must be the same as the period for which it is reporting the information required by paragraph 20D(1).

20K

The following definitions apply for the purposes of this Part of this Schedule—

  • “aircraft” means a self-propelled machine that can move through the air other than against the earth’s surface;
  • “emissions”, “energy” and “energy efficiency” have the same meaning as in Part 7 of this Schedule;
  • “for the purposes of transport” means, in relation to the consumption of fuel or the purchase of electricity, for consumption by an aircraft, road-going vehicle, train or a vessel during the course of any journey which—starts,ends, orboth starts and endswithin the United Kingdom;
  • “gas” means, except in the definition of “offshore activity”, any combustible substance which is gaseous at a temperature of 15 degrees Celsius and a pressure of 101.325 kPa (1013.25 mb) and which consists wholly or mainly of methane, ethane, propane, butane, hydrogen or carbon monoxide, or a combination of those, or a combustible mixture of those and air;
  • “kWh” means kilowatt hours;
  • “offshore activity” means activity which includes—the exploitation of mineral resources in or under the shore or bed of waters in the offshore area,the conversion of a place under the shore or bed of such waters for the purpose of storing gas,the storage of gas in, under or over such waters or the recovery of gas so stored,the unloading of gas at a place in, under or over such waters, orthe provision of accommodation for persons who work on or from an offshore installation which is maintained for the production of petroleum or the storage or unloading of gaswhere storing gas includes storing gas with a view to its permanent disposal and where “gas” for this purpose means gas within the meaning of section 2(4) of the Energy Act 2008 or carbon dioxide;
  • “offshore area” has the same meaning as in Part 7 of this Schedule;
  • “offshore installation” means an installation or structure used for carrying on a relevant offshore activity, and which is situated in the waters of, or in the seabed in, the offshore area, but excluding a ship or a floating structure which is not being maintained on station during the course of a relevant offshore activity; and for this purpose “relevant offshore activity” means an activity falling within paragraphs (a) to (d) of the definition of “offshore activity”;
  • “offshore undertaking” means an undertaking whose activities consist wholly or mainly of offshore activities;
  • “road-going vehicle” means any vehicle—in respect of which a vehicle licence is required under the Vehicle Excise and Registration Act 1994; orwhich is an exempt vehicle under that Act;
  • “tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent” has the same meaning as in Part 7 of this Schedule;
  • “train” has the meaning given in section 83 of the Railways Act 1993;
  • “vessel” means any boat or ship which is self-propelled and operates in or under water.

Annual percentage change in remuneration of directors and employees

30A

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Part 9 — DISCLOSURES CONCERNING PAYMENT PRACTICES AND PERFORMANCE IN RESPECT TO SUPPLIERS

28
  • (1) Subject to paragraphs 29 and 30, the directors’ report for a financial year must contain the information specified by sub-paragraphs (2), (3) and (4).
  • (2) A statement describing—
  • (a) the payment period specified in the company’s standard payment terms in its qualifying contracts between it and its suppliers, expressed in days;
  • (b) where the company varied the standard payment terms in its qualifying contracts between it and its suppliers in the financial year—
  • (i) details of the variation; and
  • (ii) details of any notification or consultation conducted by the company with its suppliers before making the variation.
  • (3) In relation to the payments made under qualifying contracts within the financial year, a statement of—
  • (a) the average number of days taken to make such payments, where day 1 is the first day after the relevant day;
  • (b) the percentage of those payments which were made, where day 1 is the first day after the relevant day—
  • (i) within the period beginning with day 1 and ending with day 30;
  • (ii) within the period beginning with day 31 and ending with day 60;
  • (iii) on or after day 61;
  • (c) the sum total of those payments which were made, where day 1 is the first day after the relevant day—
  • (i) within the period beginning with day 1 and ending with day 30;
  • (ii) within the period beginning with day 31 and ending with day 60;
  • (iii) on or after day 61.
  • (4) In relation to the payments under qualifying contracts that fall due within the financial year—
  • (a) a statement of the percentage of these payments which were not made within the payment period; and
  • (b) a statement of the sum total of these payments which were not made within the payment period.
29

The directors’ report for a company is not required to contain the information specified by paragraph 28 where the report is for—

  • (a) the company’s first financial year, or
  • (b) a subsequent financial year in relation to which the company qualifies as medium-sized.
30
  • (1) Paragraph 28 does not apply if—
  • (a) the company is a subsidiary undertaking at the end of the financial year;
  • (b) the company is included in the group directors’ report of a parent undertaking; and
  • (c) the group directors’ report is prepared for a financial year of the parent undertaking that ends at the same time as, or before the end of, the company’s financial year.
  • (2) If the directors’ report is a group directors’ report, paragraph 28 has effect as if references to the company were references to the company and its subsidiary undertakings included in the consolidation.
  • (3) The company may exclude from the group directors’ report any information which relates to a subsidiary undertaking, if that undertaking would not be required to include the information in its directors’ report by virtue of paragraph 29.
31

For the purposes of this Part—

  • (a) a payment falls due on the last day of the payment period;
  • (b) subject to sub-paragraph (d), a payment is made—
  • (i) when it is received by the supplier, unless sub-paragraph (c) applies, or
  • (ii) where sub-paragraph (c) applies, when it is received by the finance provider from the company;
  • (c) this sub-paragraph applies if there is an arrangement under which—
  • (i) the supplier receives part payment of an invoiced sum from a finance provider before the end of the payment period; and
  • (ii) the company pays the invoiced sum to the finance provider;
  • (d) where there is any delay in the payment or of any part of the payment being received for which the company is not responsible, the payment is deemed to have been made when it would have been received without that delay.
32
  • (1) For the purposes of this Part, a qualifying contract is a contract which satisfies sub-paragraphs (2) and (3).
  • (2) The first condition is that the relevant contract is not a contract for financial services, as defined in section 2 of the Small Business, Enterprise and Employment Act 2015.
  • (3) The second condition is that the relevant contract is—
  • (a) governed by the law of part of the United Kingdom otherwise than by the choice of the parties;
  • (b) governed by the law of part of the United Kingdom by choice of the parties, and—
  • (i) has a significant connection with that part of the United Kingdom; or
  • (ii) without that choice, its applicable law would still be the law of a part of the United Kingdom; or
  • (c) governed by a foreign law by choice of the parties and—
  • (i) without that choice, its applicable law would be the law of a part of the United Kingdom; and
  • (ii) has no significant connection with any other country outside the United Kingdom.
  • (4) In this paragraph “foreign law” means the law of a country outside the United Kingdom.
33

For the purposes of this Part of this Schedule—

  • “average” means the arithmetic mean;
  • “finance provider” means a body corporate that—lends money or provides credit in the course of a business,arranges or facilitates the provision of debt or equity finance in the course of a business, orprovides, arranges or facilitates invoice discounting or factoring in the course of a business;
  • “invoiced sum” means a sum payable under an invoice;
  • “qualifying contract” has the meaning given in paragraph 32
  • “payment period” means the period in which a company is contractually required to pay a sum;
  • “relevant day” means the day on which a company receives an invoice or otherwise has notice of an amount for payment;
  • “standard payment terms” means, in relation to a qualifying contract—the standard terms relating to payment that the company uses, orwhere the company does not use standard terms, the company’s most frequently used payment terms.

Reading this document does not replace reading the official text published on legislation.gov.uk. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. We assume no responsibility for any inaccuracies arising from the conversion of the original CLML XML to this format.

This text is published under legislation.gov.uk's own terms of reuse, not a Legalize or public-domain licence. legislation.gov.uk
Open Government Licence v3.0 (attribution required)
© Crown and database right. Derived from content available under the Open Government Licence v3.0 from legislation.gov.uk.